A Poem Reflecting Grief.

So yesterday’s task was to write a poem reflecting grief and loss. So, here’s mine:

As a toss the lilies on the earth

And say goodbye to you, I think what what life is worth without you. The world seems silent without your laugh, the stars dimmer.

A part of me went with you,

My heart is split in two, I place one half with you.

I wept for what we had and what we would have had. But this I cannot change. 

I haven’t changed our answer phone as to me you’re not gone.

I boil with anger at why the world hasn’t stopped for you. The colours seem too bright now, the world is at peace whilst I cry.

To me, the light has gone and to me that’s how I want it to stay because the darkness doesn’t betray to others how at a loss I am.

Until you light my way, I want move on until you give me a sign. The old me has died too.

Ultimately I’m too scared to be reborn in a world without you.



“Who wants to become a writer? And why? Because it’s the answer to everything. … It’s the streaming reason for living. To note, to pin down, to build up, to create, to be astonished at nothing, to cherish the oddities, to let nothing go down the drain, to make something, to make a great flower out of life, even if it’s a cactus.”

—Enid Bagnold

Leave a Reply

